Pelican Shakespeare







Penguin has always been somewhat schizophrenic about Shakespeare. Not only are there three separate series devoted to the Bard, there are four versions of Pelican Shakespeares alone. Shakespeare also seems to attract (not just in Penguin, but from all publishers) some of the ugliest cover art around, for some reason, so much so that Phil Baines fails to even mention this series in his work, “Penguin By Design”. This series used the “AB” prefixes to its numbers.

AB1 Macbeth
AB2 Coriolanus
AB3 Measure for Measure
AB4 The Winter’s Tale
AB5 Hamlet
AB6 Richard the Second
AB7 Henry the Fourth, Part I
AB8 Henry the Fourth, Part II
AB9 Henry the Fifth
AB10 Othello
AB11 Twelfth Night
AB12 Much Ad About Nothing
AB13 Troilus and Cressida
AB14 King Lear
AB15 The Tempest
AB16 Richard the Third
AB17 As You Like It
AB18 A Midsummer Night’s Dream
AB19 Romeo and Juliet
AB20 Antony and Cleopatra
AB21 The Merchant of Venice
AB22 Julius Caesar
AB23 Sonnets
AB24 The Merry Wives of Windsor
AB25 The Taming of the Shrew
AB26 King John
AB27 Love’s Labour Lost
AB28 Cymbeline
AB29 Timon of Athens
AB30 All’s Well That Ends Well
AB31 The Two Gentlemen of Verona
AB32 Comedy of Errors
AB33 Titus Andronicus
AB34 Henry the Sixth, Part I
AB35 Henry the Sixth, Parts II & III
AB36 Henry the Eighth
AB37 Poems
AB38 Pericles

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s