Pelican Shakespeare

Penguin has always been somewhat schizophrenic about Shakespeare. Not only are there three separate series devoted to the Bard, there are four versions of Pelican Shakespeares alone. Shakespeare also seems to attract (not just in Penguin, but from all publishers) some of the ugliest cover art around, for some reason, so much so that Phil Baines fails to even mention this series in his work, “Penguin By Design”. This series used the “AB” prefixes to its numbers.

AB3Measure for Measure1956
AB4The Winter’s Tale1956
AB6Richard the Second1957
AB7Henry the Fourth, Part I1957
AB8Henry the Fourth, Part II1957
AB9Henry the Fifth1957
AB11Twelfth Night1958
AB12Much Ad About Nothing1958
AB13Troilus and Cressida1958
AB14King Lear1958
AB15The Tempest1959
AB16Richard the Third1959
AB17As You Like It1959
AB18A Midsummer Night’s Dream1959
AB19Romeo and Juliet1960
AB20Antony and Cleopatra1960
AB21The Merchant of Venice1960
AB22Julius Caesar1960
AB24The Merry Wives of Windsor1963
AB25The Taming of the Shrew1964
AB26King John1962
AB27Love’s Labour Lost1963
AB29Timon of Athens1964
AB30All’s Well That Ends Well1965
AB31The Two Gentlemen of Verona1965
AB32Comedy of Errors1964
AB33Titus Andronicus1966
AB34Henry the Sixth, Part I1966
AB35Henry the Sixth, Parts II & III1966
AB36Henry the Eighth1966

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s