undefinedundefinedThe first edition of the series, running through 1949 and including books #1-21, are of the rather unappealing orange-soaked design; designer Jan Tschichold took over and created the second design, which ran until 1967, long after other series gave up and went modern. Each title contains a universal introduction to the Old Globe Theatre, as well as a short individualized introduction to the play. Notably, the paper quality of the series is a step above other Penguin publications of the time.

B1Twelfth Night1937
B3Henry the Fifth1937
B4King Lear1937
B5As You Like It1937
B6A Midsummer Night’s Dream1937
B7The Tempest1937
B8The Merchant of Venice1937
B9Richard the Second1937
B10Romeo and Juliet1937
B11Julius Caesar1937
B13Henry the Fourth Part 11938
B14Henry the Fourth Part 21938
B15Much Ado About Nothing1938
B17Antony and Cleopatra1938
B18The Sonnets & A Lover’s Complaint1938
B19The Winter’s Tale1947
B21Trylus and Cressida1947
B22The Taming of the Shrew1951
B23Love’s Labour’s Lost1953
B24Richard the Third1953
B25Measure for Measure1954
B26The Comedy of Errors1955
B27All’s Well That Ends Well1955
B28The Merry Wives of Winsor1957
B29Timon of Athens1956
B30The Two Gentlemen of Verona1956
B32King John1957
B33Titus Andronicus1958
B34Henry the Eighth1958
B36Henry the Sixth1959
B37The Narrative Poems1959

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s